PPP announces boycott of presidential election

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) on Friday announced its decision to boycott the upcoming presidential election, Daily Sitara Sindh News reported.

PPP’s former Law Minister of Sindh, Ayaz Soomro, informed the Chief Election Commissioner in writing about the party’s decision to boycott the presidential election.

Addressing a press conference in the federal capital city PPP’s presidential candidate and senior leader Senator Raza Rabbani said that his party was left with no other option but to boycott the poll.

Rabbani thanked other opposition partners for their support and said their favours could never be repaid.

The Awami National Party (ANP) and the Balochistan National Party – Awami (BNP-A) also announced a boycott of the presidential poll.

Senator Haji Adeel, belonging to the Awami National Party, said that his party had already announced that it would support any decision taken by the PPP.

He further said that the court had taken a ‘one-sided decision’ which was ‘unjust.’

Daily SItara Sindh reported sources as saying that the Pakistan Muslim League – Quaid (PML-Q) had also decided to boycott the election for president.

The main opposition party’s decision came as it said that enough time was not given to campaign for the presidential election.

The Election Commission of Pakistan had originally announced Aug 6 as the date for the presidential poll. The ruling Pakistan Muslim Legue – Nawaz (PML-N) had then written to the election commission requesting to delay the polls as the announced presidential elections were falling in the last ten days of Ramzaan, when most of the lawmakers were to be busy performing Umrah or sitting in Aitekaf.

The ECP rejected the government’s request following which thePML-N filed a request in the Supreme Court of Pakistan seeking to hold the presidential elections before the last ten days of Ramazan.

The apex court later decided in favor of the PML-N and agreed to the July 30 sought by the government.

Pakistan’s largely ceremonial president is not elected by popular vote, but by the lawmakers in the Senate, National Assembly and the assemblies of the four provinces.

The PPP had fielded Raza Rabbani as it presidential candidate whereas the PML-N is contesting Mamnoon Hussain.

The Pakistan Tehrik-i-Insaf has nominated Justice (retd) Wajihuddin and its party chief Imran Khan announced on Friday evening that the PTI, after holding consultations, had decided not boycott the presidential election.

Chief of the Awami Muslim League (AML), Shiekh Rasheed Ahmed, said that his party would also boycott the polling for the post president.


Published by

usman hashmi

#Writer #Blogger #Artist #Enterpuner #CivilEngineer #Chealsea #PSPFAMILY #SMT #Twitter #CTH #PSP #SM

12 thoughts on “PPP announces boycott of presidential election”

      1. Be safe! I do hope all will be well there. I have a couple of other Pakistani friends besides you. One was a student at my husband’s university. I had him and his roommates to our house for meals and American activities. I asked for Muslim students after the lovely acceptance and greeting we received in Egypt years ago. I have more stories to tell about that. I still get calls and emails from Fayyaz who now is in Canada with his wife and 5 kids. The other is Meena a Pakistani /American woman I taught with in Arizona. So now I have a third Pakistani friend….you ! Blessings….Anne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s